Little White Church



The Church will be celebrating its 192nd anniversary on July 29th 2018 at 2:30 pm. A warm welcome is extended to all to come and visit Saint-Chrysostome’s historical landmark.

This year we are delighted to welcome Marcel Labelle and Jacynthe Yelle, authors of the recently published book Saint-Chrysostome, au pays des pionniers. Their book presents a fascinating look at the town’s early years and includes many interesting stories. They will be on hand to sign copies of their book and answer questions. What a wonderful way to explore both church and its surroundings accompanied by a book that sheds light on the early pionners. The cemetery will be marked with the graves of some of those mentioned in the book. Don’t miss this opportunity to learn the importance of this resilient community.

The Russeltown Flatts Church began through the vision of Mary Forbes, whose husband John ran a small store across the road. Her encouragement, along with the hard work of local settlers resulted in the raising of the building's frame in 1826. The church was first used by the Methodists and Congregationalists.

By 1853, the settlers were forming a strong tie to the Presbyterian Congregationalists and Mrs. Forbes turned the church over to them in return for their commitment to build a steeple. Donald Black, a federal Member of Parliament (1935-53) and grandson of original settler Josiah Black, donated the electrical lighting and fixtures for the church in 1920. In 1925, with the union of the churches, Russeltown Flatts Church joined the United Church of Canada. By 1945, the scattering of the local population forced the merger of Knox, Wesley-Covey Hill and Russeltown churches.

The Russeltown Church and Cemetery has been maintained by trustees and is now a registered foundation. The Church welcomes visitors to its Anniversary Service, regularly held the last Sunday in July.